St. Elijah’s Cathedral was built in 1908. The architectural style of the present church fits perfectly into the canonical framework of the neo-Russian style. A five-story, pentagonal brick building with an adjoining Russian-Byzantine-style bell tower to the north. The main entrance of the cathedral – on the north side – it gives it a slightly unusual look, because according to Orthodox canons, the main entrance of the church should be from the west.
The current cathedral of St. Elijah was built near the ancient wooden church, which was founded by the owner of the city, probably Konstantin Ivanovich Ostrozky, and was named in honor of the prophet Elijah on the occasion of the birth of his firstborn Elijah Ostrozky. At the end of the sixteenth century an icon of the prophet Elijah with life was presented for the Church of Elijah. This unique work of sacred art is now exhibited in the museum exposition “Our Spiritual Treasures” of the State Historical and Cultural Reserve of Dubno.
The history of St. Elijah’s Cathedral shows that a number of prominent clergymen worked here. Among them are the well-known phytotherapist Mykhailo Nosal and the composer Ivan Novohatsky. The monument of local significance is on the balance of the State Historical and Cultural Reserve of Dubno